On the 25th of March 1914, shortly after the liberation of Thessaloniki, in a cafeteria in the area of ​​"Admiral Votsis", an eminent company that was consisted of courageous and visionary young people of the time decided to make its own personal "revolution".

In a special day for Orthodoxy and Hellenism ARIS was founded.

The name is derived from ancient Greek mythology, the god of war, a synonym of bravery and valor.

An enormous Club that over the years has written its own unique History.

An enormous Club that is loved and worshiped by thousands of people and made ARIS more than a collective preference. 


Yiannis Angelou, Lazarus Agorastos, Gregory Vlachopoulos, Lazarus Vlachopoulos, Peter Gotzamani, Angel Zegas, Theodore Theodoridis Dimitris Ioannidis, Telemachus Karagiannidis Dimitris Kotrotsios, Peter Krey, Minoas Kydonakis Lazarus Kostidis George Lambros, Yannis Nakopoulos, Thanasis Papageorgiou, Giannis Pliatsikas, Roussos Roussiadis, Karlos Salusto, Tasos Tsiatisias, Prodromos Kotsanos and Dimos.


3 Championships: 1928, 1932, 1946

1 Cup: 1970

1 Cup of Great Greece: 1971

13 Championships of Macedonia: 1923, 1924, 1926, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1934, 1938, 1946, 1949, 1953, 1959

4 Championships in Northern Greece: 1933, 1935, 1939, 1956


11 Greek Youth Championships: 1962, 1963, 1964, 1971, 1975, 1978, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1991

2 Greek Championships K-20: 2002, 2011

1 Greek Championship K-17: 2012

1 Greek Cup of Amateurs: 1985


4 times Greek Championship winner: 1923, 1930, 1933, 1980

8-time Cup Final: 1932, 1933, 1940, 1950, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2010

1 time UEFA Champions League qualifiers: 1979-80

2-time qualification at the "32" stage of the UEFA / Europa League Cups: 1981-1982, 2010-11

2-time qualification at the "32" stage of the International Exhibition Cup: 1965-66, 1968-69


Dinos Kouis: 473

Theodoros Pallas: 368

Yannis Venos: 306


Dinos Kouis: 143

Alekos Alexiadis: 126

Costas Papaioannou: 65 



The first Greek national championship was held in 1927-28 and the story was written by ARIS Thessaloniki, Greece's first champion.

Our team, having easily won the Thessaloniki Championship, with nine wins in ten matches (33-8 goals), was qualified in the finals with the Athens champion, Atromitos and the Piraeus champion, Ethnikos.

The matches began on the 24th of May 1928. In the Panhellenios stadium, ARIS won Atromitos 3-1 but was defeated by Ethnikos  3-2   (the game took place at the Cycling Stadium).

Then the series of matches was transferred to Thessaloniki. On June 17, at the Herakles stadium, our team won 3-1.

The title of the champion was judged in the match against Ethnikos Piraeus. The game was held at the ARIS new stadium in the presence of 10,000 spectators. Our team won 3-1 at National Piraeus and won the first championship of Greece. Two goals were scored by Dionysis Katekis and one by Kostas Vikelidis.

ARIS SQUAD: Katranzos, Oplopoios, Yakoumis, Katsouounis, K.Vikelidis, Gikopoulos, Koloniaris, Minassian, Leontaridis, Katekis, Ioannidis.

Team manager was Kesler and Lefteris Eliades was the president.



Four years later ARIS won the second Pan-Hellenic Championship. This time with the participation of all the three POK clubs:  Panathinaikos, Olympiacos and AEK.

Our team, in the 1931-32 season, with a big shot of the aggressive "twin", Kitsos and Nikos Aggelaki (the first scored 15 and the second 16 goals), had an impressive run.

After 14 games with nine wins, four draws and only one defeat accounted for 22 points against Panathinaikos 18 and rightly it was the championship winner(38-10 goals).

The three results that do stand out are the great victories against Panathinaikos (7-0) and against Hercules (6-1 and 7-3). The last victory against Hercules was the decisive one for winning the Championship.

ARIS players were: Koumblis, K.Vikelidis, Economou, Gikikopoulos, Katsouounis, N.Vikelidis, Vogdanou, Angelakis, Kitsos, Katekis, Argyriadis, Akritidis, Katrantzos, Danelian, Kalogiannis and Yeton.

Coach of our team was de Valer and the president was Petros Louvaris.



The first Pan-Hellenic Championship of the post-war era and the third one was won by ARIS. After a very difficult period of long inertia (World War II, Occupation), our team, starred by Cleanthis Vikelidis, presented itself loudly, and at the end it stepped up to the top.

The players of the team, who started training at Harilaou Stadium, which was a clay pitch at the time, having a different orientation to Kleanthis Vikelidis (it was vertically positioned to Papanastasiou street), after winning Olympiacos 4-0 in Piraeus, 1-0 in Thessaloniki and 1-1 draw with AEK in Athens, on June 23, had only one job, to beat AEK.

ARIS, in the presence of 13,000 spectators, beat the Athenian team with ease (4-1) gathering nine points and winning the championship.

ARIS’ champion team consisted of the following players: Vaggelis Athanasiadis, Vakach Abrahamian, Angelos Vasiliadis Costas Velliadis, Kleanthis Vikelidis, Nikos Simos Kaftantzis, Michael Koloniari, John Liakopoulos, Achilles Magras Costas Nicolaides, Sophocles Papas Nikos Rammos Alekos Siotis , Dimitris, Stavrakmpis, Vladimiros Takatzoglou, Nikos Tsonas, Lefteris Physikopoulos, Lefteris Halivopoulos.

The coach was Dionysis Katekis and Lefteris Eliades was the president.



The evening of June 28, 1970 has been deeply engraved in the memory ARIS fans.

The big game started at 20:30, but the doors of Kaftanzoglio were opened from 17:00. The final was in a packed stadium (46,695 tickets were available).

Our team thanks to Manolis Keramidas’ goal in the 8th minute, after Alekos Alexiadis’ pass, has won the trophy and wrote history. Please note that two more goals by Alekos Alexiades were canceled by the referee Mihas.

ARIS Squad: Christidis, Pallas, Nalbantis, Spyridon, Raptopoulos, Semertzis (59 'Psifidis), Syropoulos, Keramidas, Alexiadis, Papaioannou, Michailidis.

Coach of ARIS was Milovan Tsiric and Nikolaos Kambanis was the president.



In the summer of 1927 ARIS acquired its own "house". On the 18th of June, the first stadium of our team, which was located in the area of ​​today's Thessaloniki International Fair, was inaugurated.

As part of the celebrations of this important event ARIS had a friendly game with the team Vojvodina which he beat 5-2.



On 23 January 1946 the Government published the decree on "compulsory expropriation of stadiums for the establishment of a gym for the ARIS Sports Club of Thessaloniki".

Epaminating Charilaos, an entrepreneur and contractor, in the 1920s had bought the land in the current Harilau area. The expropriation of the area for the construction of the new stadium was carried out at the expense of the Association itself.

After attempts by Asterios Giovanakis, who paid a considerable sum, the ownership titles of the stadium passed to ARIS.

Work began in 1948 and was completed in 1951 with the construction of the current Gate 2, on Papanastasiou Street.

The architectural design of our team’s stadium were made by the architect and old swimmer of the Club, Costas Filippou.

On the 4th of November in the same year, the official opening of the Harilaou Stadium is taking place.

In the first official game ARIS won 3-2  Thermaikos for the Thessaloniki Championship. More than 14,000 viewers are estimated to be at the stands.

In the early 70's Harilaou Stadium began to change its form. During the presidency of Nikolaos Kambanis the first shelter has been constructed, the stands of gates 1,5,6 and the first VIP Session , while in 1969 the turf was first placed. In 1977 the works for the construction of Gate 3 were completed. The Harilaou Stadium was renamed to “Kleanthis Vikelidis” and took its present form in 2004.



Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok